Right In Front of Your Eyes

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle had once observed that the best way to hide something is to keep it in plain sight. I realized with this picture, the truth in his observation.

I was trying to find a better way of shooting this flower with the traditional red gate in the background.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did not fail to see the insect hanging upside down from one of the flowers. So I bent down and shot it from the underside of the petals and got the image below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So the insect was hanging dead from the underside of the flower, I surmised and left it at that. I failed to notice anything more. I was more preoccupied with the red gate in the background. Or maybe I was tired; I had walked a considerable distance under the hot April sun. It was only when I checked this picture out back at home, did I see the full story. I had literally missed out on something that was happening in plain sight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of nature’s most clinical ambush predators, a female Crab spider was holding its prey with its pair of forelegs and had a pair of chelicerae firmly implanted in its abdomen. The victim had been incapacitated by the predator’s neurotoxin.

The Crab spider does not spin a web, but waits on flowers in perfect camouflage, so that its hapless victim has no clue at all of the mortal danger that awaits. When an insect seeking nectar sits on the flower, the spider pounces on it. Once the insect is firmly in its grasp and perfectly immobilized by the neurotoxin, the spider releases digestive juices into the insect’s body to completely dissolve it from within. Then it makes a feast out of the juice inside the victim’s intact exoskeleton.

It was a good opportunity that I could have used to witness and film the Crab spider in action. But I missed out on it. The slip I realized happened due to my tunnel vision. It was a learning for me to keep my senses as well as my mind open to anything and everything on my rambling trips.

Extrapolated to our life, one often misses out on enjoying the small, joyful moments that may be so obvious for everyone else but not for him because he has fixed his focus on something specific; the result being everything else is either out of focus or falls on his blind spot.

 

This post is in response to Daily Post prompts
Obvious Witness Mistake Feast Learning

Leave a Reply

